Brightburn - Movie Review

Comments

  1. Sharonda Leaky Jackson

    Sharonda Leaky JacksonDay ago

    The father is grossly overweight and were supposed to believe he’s doing all that running around without being out of breath??? Lol please. I believed the superpowers more than that very OBESE man running around

  2. Saifaleslam Aldhahry

    Saifaleslam Aldhahry2 days ago

    I watched the movie yesterday and I really enjoyed it. I absolutely agree with you, I felt the movie kind of rushed up and I was really expecting some thing more deep but overall the movie was great. I also expected a short background were Brandon (The boy) came from, but I think this is a good thing that they made his original background a mystery. For example I think Brandon come from another diminution (Earth 3) and when he is become a man he probably be Ultra man from DC comic Crime syndicate (That is my thought). Anyway, excellent review as always Chris good job mate.

  3. boy White

    boy White4 days ago

    If superman was a god to people...then brightburn must be the anti christ.....

  4. boy White

    boy White4 days ago

    Well the never really reference that he was a alien besides of the superman origing story..

  5. MajorShot

    MajorShot4 days ago

    I found this movie wasn't that good, not worth watching.

  6. Isaac Rivera

    Isaac Rivera5 days ago

    His shirt is legendary. I need it.

  7. Michael Kuhlenberg

    Michael Kuhlenberg5 days ago

    This movie was BORING all the way thru. It had a good idea that was not thought out. This film makes Dark Phoenix looks Oscar worthy.

  8. TruFantom21

    TruFantom215 days ago

    Chris Stuckmann Do you honestly think that not including the crash landing scene would have not given the mystery of where this kid comes from? Are you not aware of trailers?

  9. Nick Young

    Nick Young6 days ago

    While I appreciate Chris's opinion that there should have been more of a struggle within Brandon, I saw him being "commanded" by the ship to "take the world" as a twist on the whole "Clark activates the Jor-El hologram & it tells him he can/has to be a hero" trope from both Superman (1978) & Man of Steel, so I'm okay with how it happened. That said, I think that's a very minor problem that the Superman movies & this exude: why can't it be the character's own choice to do good or evil? Are they fated to do either?

  10. brett norris

    brett norris6 days ago

    This movie is objectively terrible. Stop acting like it’s decent. Fuck. I want my money back plus compensation for the gas I spent getting to the theater

  11. yung razz

    yung razz7 days ago

    This movie was terrible. Only the idea was good. It's like watching the same scene over and over again; Brendan stands in front of someone, camera pans, Brendan is gone! Cue Brendan flying in again with violence. Also there was no story at all. No character development. Why did he want to kill all these people? Where did he come from? I can't take anyone serious that passes this off as anything more than watchable.

  12. Michael Prescott, Jr.

    Michael Prescott, Jr.7 days ago

    Like a solid blind rental from the 80's.

  13. myname istavo

    myname istavo8 days ago

    this movie was fucking terrible

  14. YEROCnamrus

    YEROCnamrus8 days ago

    Yeah but they needed to advertise it as 'evil superman' to get a decent amount of people in the cinema, they really wouldnt have been able to keep the alien part a secret. And also I feel like his motivations were clear enough, he is still just a kid

  15. Art Giddens

    Art Giddens8 days ago

    movie was horrible

  16. Silly Goose

    Silly Goose8 days ago

    I too was rooting for this film. These are the type of indy movies I would pay to see in the theater every week.

  17. kevin u

    kevin u8 days ago

    Great review is always Chris!

  18. Cap Glo

    Cap Glo8 days ago

    If it was any slower, it would’ve been Capt. Marvel 😴

  19. Brutal Justin

    Brutal Justin8 days ago

    Great review, but I don't think taking out the intro crash landing scene would've helped the movie much, since every trailer gives you the idea that the movie is about an unusual, other-worldly kid who becomes evil. I think it would only work for someone going into the movie completely blind knowing nothing about it other than the title.

  20. Candice G

    Candice G8 days ago

    This movie was a waste of time

  21. Lia Flexx

    Lia Flexx8 days ago

    I thought it was pretty cool movie. As you said it lacked some character development. He went from nice boy to prince of darkness in 0.2 seconds. I heard so much about it being like evil Superman, but the only things that were like Superman was the adoption and the farm. Other than that it was pretty much a purely evil alien who happens to have superman like powers.

  22. Wes Fields

    Wes Fields9 days ago

    Great movie

  23. jmac46951

    jmac469519 days ago

    It was a terrible movie. The acting was wooden. The father was miscast and it seemed as though they rushed through the story to get to the killing. You're welcome.

  24. Pen Wednesday

    Pen Wednesday9 days ago

    4:40 yes

  25. PreferAndroid

    PreferAndroid9 days ago

    This movie sucked a giant gorilla dick. There was zero character development. There was no connections to the relationships between the characters. Extremely predictable. It felt rushed as f***. Horrible! I honestly don't see how this guy sees this movie as a good movie. It really boggles the mind. 😳

  26. TieFighter34

    TieFighter34Day ago

    Chris is one of the absolute worst movie reviewers.

  27. Manny Johnson

    Manny Johnson9 days ago

    Please dont say superhero, there is nothing heroic about anything Brandon does. He is not a hero. He is a serial killer with superpowers, nothing more.

  28. Who's Next • 9 years ago

    Who's Next • 9 years ago9 days ago

    So it's goku without head injury

  29. Haters Have Opinion

    Haters Have Opinion7 days ago

    Good One

  30. David Huff

    David Huff9 days ago

    If you want to see a good movie then skip this one.

  31. Nikki Movie Reviews

    Nikki Movie Reviews9 days ago

    Great review😎Love your channel🤗 I love the superman dark twist to it 🤣

  32. Nick N

    Nick N10 days ago

    A movie that is similar to the super man story that is over looked / forgotten is 'Powder'...

  33. Alex Rademacher

    Alex Rademacher10 days ago

    great review, great points. i think a solid A , for sure, maybe A+

  34. tinwoods

    tinwoods10 days ago

    A tough judge. I like that.

  35. Jarsky

    Jarsky10 days ago

    Guess they would have had to withhold a lot more from the trailers if they wanted to do a late second act reveal. It was evident from the first trailers that came out that this was a twist on Kal-El's origin story from the Superman saga. Still one of the movies im most looking forward to this year

  36. Mainely Movies

    Mainely Movies10 days ago

    Very interesting insight, Chris! The idea of a twist could have really made this story a bit more compelling and really could have built up the motivation and explanation side of it too.

  37. deathrider7

    deathrider710 days ago

    Have you seen Clerks for $28,000?

  38. 92680BOYD

    92680BOYD11 days ago

    Here's a trigger. What if the Russians sent that kid instead of it being an actual alien. Could be a twist coming up for the sequel.

  39. Out of Spite Production

    Out of Spite Production11 days ago

    I think he's just a straight psychopath, just the shit he does or saids has traits of a psychopath, not even the killing forget about that, just how he reacts and acts and how he's very anti social as well, a lot of traits of a psychopath, to me personally super power or not I think he would have ended up evil

  40. MrKalashnik0va

    MrKalashnik0va11 days ago

    "There are times in the movie where he expresses that he wants to be good" You mean the ONE time at the end of the movie after he killed everyone? Just before he kills his mom?

  41. Freak Reviews

    Freak Reviews11 days ago

    I rewatched the movie and still can't figure it out the kid's motivations. It's so rushed.

  42. IvyHilts

    IvyHilts11 days ago

    "Chronicle meets Superman" it's good, but I'd rather pitch the de idea as "We need to talk about Kal-El"

  43. David Semick

    David Semick11 days ago

    You liked it more than I did. It seemed more like an 85 minute teaser for a potential Brightburn 2.

  44. TFEXY

    TFEXY12 days ago

    Easily my fave horror movie

  45. Juicy Narwal

    Juicy Narwal12 days ago

    Not sure if I’m reaching here, but I also kind of noticed a really nice touch of colour symbolism. Many times in the movie you’ll see the family around blue clothing and other items, while the kid’s aesthetic is all red. Every time he goes crazy there’s a touch of red, but whenever his parent’s bring him back down, there’s always blue in the shot.

  46. K26SMOOTH

    K26SMOOTH12 days ago

    Excellent review

  47. Garrett K

    Garrett K12 days ago

    I could feel the "oh shit'' moment in the scene that you showed where the kid gets pushed around and bullied. I think it's just a bad idea to bully people. It never seems to turn out well.

  48. Søren Vigand Kryger

    Søren Vigand Kryger12 days ago

    It's funny.. I just saw this movie and it did NOT have that opening scene with the crash. We see the parents fooling around in the bed, they get interrupted by a sound that goes silent, and then goes out with a big bang. Then it cuts to footage of the boy as a baby, growing up. That's it. The crash scenes comes later in the film, so I'm kinda sad that Chris Stuckmann didn't see this version that I did :) Anywho, I loved the movie with its flaws.

  49. sadder daze

    sadder daze12 days ago

    off topic but I need that shirt lol

  50. Mlogan11

    Mlogan1112 days ago

    Good film, but need more character development to show his motivation. Also it seems everyone kept making really dumb mistakes typical of horror films. Since they let you in on the alternate Superman-verse right at the star, it would have been cool to see some other character origins like "Lex Luthor" turning out to be the good kid scientist that has suspicions about Bryan, setting up for the sequel.

  51. Jedi Master ULTRA-NERD

    Jedi Master ULTRA-NERD12 days ago

    Here's the thing: I thought the film was solid. Great acting, good premise, good writing, and one helluva third act. The ending was good. I liked the direction. I thought it was good. But when 'Bad Guy' by Billie Eilish came on and they played it over clips of him leveling cities and killing thousands.... i just couldn't take it seriously. Its hard to take in these horrific things while a pop song with an up-tempo beat plays. If they intended for me to take it seriously... no. just no. kinda took me out of it because it was so HARD R and gory details that its jarring to hear an up-tempo pop song come up. its just odd. to prove my point, watch the movie (its worth watching), listen to the song in the finale, then look up the music video. Tell me that the tone matches

  52. That1lameguy

    That1lameguy12 days ago

    So, it’s an alternate universe of superman. Lex Luthor, joker, deathstroke, etc are good

  53. ZH36 -

    ZH36 -12 days ago

    Labyrinth t shirt!!!

  54. Seanjohn0101

    Seanjohn010112 days ago

    THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT!!!!!!!

  55. Triste d3 Nemesis 13:17-13

    Triste d3 Nemesis 13:17-1312 days ago

    I loved this movie this is the real superman it deserves a sequel for such flip

  56. Romane Forbes

    Romane Forbes13 days ago

    You have to remember that they probably got that time to do the movie so it had to be rushed

  57. Nihaal Sandim

    Nihaal Sandim13 days ago

    Batman : im not gonna save this bitches mother

  58. utubeproductreviews

    utubeproductreviews13 days ago

    Interesting, thanks for the info.

  59. Tyler Williams

    Tyler Williams13 days ago

    I think the opening scene was fine given the fact everyone in the audience already knew that this was an evil superman movie. Wouldn't had made sense to keep it a secret.

  60. JadedTheatre

    JadedTheatre13 days ago

    omg, I want your shirt so bad!

  61. Bill Stone

    Bill Stone13 days ago

    When does a movie about a childless couple become a horror movie? When it becomes apparent.

  62. Jason Stewart

    Jason Stewart13 days ago

    I was disappointed. It wasn't an awesome movie. It was just an okay movie. The only unlikable character he killed was his mother. In my opinion, this movie would have been a lot better if they focused more on his school life, him being bullied and if they went with the angle of him getting revenge for that bullying. Kind of like if a school shooter had super powers, what would happen.

  63. Not A Doctor

    Not A Doctor13 days ago

    If the Gunn brothers decide to do a crossover film with Super (which was teased at the very end), I’d be there opening night!

  64. BRYCE

    BRYCE11 days ago

    I think they should, have an evil justice league. Then have them fight a good suicide squad, a good joker, a good lex luthor, good penguin, etc.

  65. James simpkins

    James simpkins13 days ago

    I would of gave brightburn an a

  66. Alexander Leslie

    Alexander Leslie13 days ago

    Evil superman

  67. After Math

    After Math13 days ago

    this movie was fucking garbage like 5/10

  68. Rob Vespa

    Rob Vespa13 days ago

    Wow. I now want to see this film.

  69. Dark Glass

    Dark Glass13 days ago

    I like the approach where the mother was in denial rather than oblivious to the connection between her 'son' and the horrible things that have happened since he started going through "puberty". It is a realistic approach that actually makes me fascinated with what was going on in the film rather than roll my eyes.

  70. John Cherry

    John Cherry13 days ago

    It was all jumpscares from beginning to end. Why. Why are the reviews so good.

  71. John Cherry

    John Cherry13 days ago

    I'm bob ross I'm a master of horror

  72. Lmarie.

    Lmarie.13 days ago

    He didn't want to be good. I thought the classroom scene where he explained the difference between bees and wasps basically suggested he's a predator whos only purpose is to hunt and kill like a wasp.

  73. Sean Coomes

    Sean Coomes13 days ago

    That shirt is dope

  74. Veemon digimon

    Veemon digimon13 days ago

    Well. about the spaceship scene....since it was already established from the trailers...it really didn't make sense try to hide it like a 'plot secret' ...the trailer must show something after-all.

  75. MetalArms

    MetalArms13 days ago

    I actually got to the theater a couple of minutes late and missed the opening scene of him crashing and yeah you were right. It did kinda make the movie better for me lol

  76. krzykoopa

    krzykoopa13 days ago

    I don't understand what the movie gains from "hiding the surprise / playing with our expectations" If you seen the trailer or know anything about the movie there is no surprise. The fact they lean into that in my opinion is great because the movie does not pull punches in what it is showing. Other than that I agree with everything you said

  77. Brandon

    Brandon13 days ago

    Wishing it was a tie in to the unbreakable universe!

  78. michael mcpeek

    michael mcpeek13 days ago

    What a surprise. Leftist degenerate turns the story of Superman into a demented fantasy. Who would have guessed?

  79. Zha G

    Zha G13 days ago

    Is Chronicle meets Superman it's evil Superman give me Monies😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

  80. booginas

    booginas13 days ago

    I like your idea of them withholding the fact that he's an alien til the middle of the movie. It would have been a better reveal, yet somewhat still predictable. My takeaway from the movie however is that you can love someone with everything in you & sacrifice your last for them but they are still gonna be what they're gonna be, whether that's a murderer, an alcoholic, a thief, gay (not that that's a bad thing) --- you can't change what it is in someone to be. And it raises the question:. "If you find out someone is truly irredeemable --- can you stop loving them? Or maybe, "Should you feel guilty if you stop loving them"? Cuz I think Elizabeth's character really loved him even til the end. But the father --- I think he loved who he THOUGHT his son was til the end, but not who his son truly revealed himself to be, & that's why his & Elizabeth's character bumped heads & were stuck @ a crossroads. I knew what he was gonna do at the end because the mother didn't have the strength to get past her emotions & think practically. It's the same reason why it's hard for people to get over an "ex." You're holding on to the memory of the ideal version of them in your head--- your fairytale version of them. But when you are able to ACCEPT who the TRULY ARE, then you're able to release them & I think the scene near the end with the father & the boy in the woods ( don't want to spoil it) was when the father let the lil' boy he raised die & saw him for who he was at the point, & that's how he was able to do what he did. Or attempted to anyway. Just my 25cents.

  81. Haz3 Spears

    Haz3 Spears13 days ago

    Everyone knows hes an alien its a superman ish plot

  82. Zach Sheets

    Zach Sheets13 days ago

    "I feel your review could have been better if you would have gave it a double B for Brandon Bryer" lol jk. I really felt exactly the same about this movie. Was great but missed the mark on a couple things.

  83. 5yogurt

    5yogurt13 days ago

    If he is part of an invasive species then his concept of being good is different from that of humans.

  84. Call me KENNETH!

    Call me KENNETH!14 days ago

    Elizabeth Banks is so underated.

  85. Sainiranjan Lingayat

    Sainiranjan Lingayat14 days ago

    Cool huh!

  86. 3 KIDS

    3 KIDS14 days ago

    Agreed, I think the run time needed an extra 30 minutes. I think the whole “is it a puberty thing or something else” could have been fleshed out more which also means you’re right the opening crash scene would have had to be moved, most likely to the beginning of the dream sequence. So it’s not an entirely faultless film, but I thought it was really entertaining and fun to watch, I liked it a lot 👍🏻

  87. Jan Venter

    Jan Venter14 days ago

    I think they did they alien bit so everyone would compare this to Superman

  88. ANIME FAN

    ANIME FAN14 days ago

    So brightburn is the oposite if superman what if superman is alive again and fought him power by power hand by hand superman vs the demon of space.

  89. Duke Silver

    Duke Silver14 days ago

    Hollywood announced it's permanent vacation from originality when they tried to remake Point Break.

  90. pingus42

    pingus4214 days ago

    The problem with having a setup for a reveal in a film like this is that a lot of people are going in with the premise that the boy is Superman basically, so the surprise would be dumb

  91. skeleton

    skeleton14 days ago

    So superman gone bad

  92. Hannah Perez

    Hannah Perez14 days ago

    damn I haven’t seen it yet but you mentioning that they should’ve kept him being an alien a secret until further into the movie made me so angry cuz it’s such a good idea and I wish the writers did that

  93. Jamal Crawford

    Jamal Crawford14 days ago

    sorry imo this was trash asf

  94. Frauke Schmidt

    Frauke Schmidt14 days ago

    Excellent review, thank you.

  95. David DeCelle

    David DeCelle15 days ago

    I liked this film. It sort of struck me as the origin story for Hyperion. I would love to see this incorporated into the MCU, but I know that’s not gonna happen.

  96. Ms. Perfection

    Ms. Perfection15 days ago

    What absolutely annoys me is the amount of people who think this movie has any ties to DC Comics.

  97. Peter Borrie

    Peter Borrie15 days ago

    He explains his motive through the wasp and bees thing in the science class

  98. maximumrisk2004

    maximumrisk200413 days ago

    True, every class scene ties into the movies plot.

  99. Nhan Do

    Nhan Do15 days ago

    My friend gwen acts in brightburn...

  100. Agent CL. 47

    Agent CL. 4715 days ago

    This movie had so much white stereotypes 😂😂😂😂😂

  101. mobaby1979

    mobaby197915 days ago

    More Gunns than an NRA meeting

  102. mick cv

    mick cv15 days ago

    Feel like the smaller budget mainly coincides with the big names. This had. Elizabeth banks as the top actor who is not A list and Roy from the office who I haven’t seen in anything else. Put Christian Bale in it and you’re well over that budget

  103. mick cv

    mick cv15 days ago

    Seems like there was 2 scenes that clearly showed it was rated R....broken glass and pickup truck

  104. Dylan Kelley

    Dylan Kelley13 days ago

    Would be pretty hard pressed to find something like a young child crushing another young child's hand effortlessly and remorselessly in a PG13. Coupled with things like the dad trying to shoot him and Idk, definitely felt like a hard R rating with a lot of very mature moments and themes that wouldnt suit a PG13 audience

  105. Nightingale690

    Nightingale69015 days ago

    You’re a really shit reviewer

  106. Don Bruno Richard Martínez Olazábal Viavicencios

    Don Bruno Richard Martínez Olazábal Viavicencios15 days ago

    Thank Master Chris Stuckmann, good review. When I walked out of the Cinema, I was disappointed. I had seen your review prior. You are 100% on the money with your change of not showing the ship crash. Another part that bothered me was something you mentioned, their is a very slight arc for the kid. He didn’t start out a nice outgoing kid. His classmates already bullied him. He was just, vacant. Then the ship juices him up. Now he looks aware OR angry as fuck‼️ The real action didn’t even start until the 3rd Act‼️ Plus if he were trying to be good, the one person that ALWAYS belived in and supported him, his mommy, he would not have taken for a Skyfall‼️ Much L♥️VE to you and all of Team Stuckmann‼️‼️✊🏼✊🏼✊🏼♥️♥️♥️🤘🏼🤘🏼🤘🏼💯💯💯✝️✝️✝️🎥🎥🎥🎬🎬🎬🎟🎟🎟🥃🥃🥃