A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
Twitter - linustech
Facebook - LinusTech
Instagram - linustech
Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
Intro Screen Music Credit:
Title: Laszlo - Supernova
Video Link: uswork.info/videos/PKfxmFU3lWY-video.html
iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High uswork.info

Comments

  1. Linus Tech Tips

    Linus Tech Tips5 months ago

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

  2. C P

    C P3 months ago

    HEY LINUS PLIS MAKE VIDEO THAT COMBINE BOOMBOXSPEAKER AND PC IN 1 BOX,,

  3. Kian Moore

    Kian Moore4 months ago

    Do a review on SuperTuxKart. Just so you can be confused

  4. midnightwolf

    midnightwolf4 months ago

    Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

  5. alysdexia

    alysdexia4 months ago

    @lazypizzaguy gibberish

  6. Моргана Ле Фай

    Моргана Ле Фай3 days ago

    Please Sir sorry for nobbie question, I installed pop os on hp probook 6475b it has amd dual core AMD A6-4400M and 8 Gb ram is it ok to install it on it or it heavy on this laptop because it's dual core, I disabled animations from gnome tweaks thanks

  7. coleslaw

    coleslaw5 days ago

    This is gonna inspire me to keep tinkering with the shit laptop I installed Linux on again :) thanks Linus

  8. rimil murmu

    rimil murmu5 days ago

    just moved to pop-os

  9. maybe real

    maybe real5 days ago

    The games fell behind, hah, ha, hahahaha

  10. Christian Golden

    Christian Golden5 days ago

    9:41 linus says woof. UWU

  11. Not Needed

    Not Needed5 days ago

    Its all about that wood

  12. Chris Warren-Smith

    Chris Warren-Smith8 days ago

    What the hell are you talking about dude, as a linux user i haven't bothered compiling a kernel since the 90s

  13. JMiskovsky

    JMiskovsky8 days ago

    They should offer ARM, Risc V or Power processors doe to Backdoors on x86-64.

  14. Hasan Iqbal

    Hasan Iqbal11 days ago

    yo I really want to switch to Linux cuz I'm dun with windows but Linux doesn't have everything like windows and it takes a bit more effort to make it work and you lose some performance

  15. Tim Seguine

    Tim Seguine11 days ago

    I know it isn't a typical use case for most, but when it comes to developer tools, you actually normally have to compile more things yourself on windows than on linux. The package managers on most distributions are dead simple: you type the name of the software you want and boom it is installed and ready to use. TBH the biggest problem I have with linux desktops nowadays is that they try too hard to take the "apple" route of "we know what's best for you". I use windows at home but linux at work, because in my opinion that's what they're both best for(With the exception that LibreOffice is kind of junk).

  16. Kelly Masuda

    Kelly Masuda12 days ago

    BTW, i have z270 and x399 e gaming mobo. You can patch the kernel and OpenAuraSDK to get the RGB and and OpenAura (a python program) to get addressable RGBs working. I believe the openaura RGB python program had support for thermaltake USB and corsair devices.

  17. Kelly Masuda

    Kelly Masuda12 days ago

    POP OS is what ive been using for my professional environment. I love it.

  18. J.B Locke

    J.B Locke13 days ago

    Woodgrain LGR would be proud

  19. Leadius USA

    Leadius USA13 days ago

    It is OK. Not great or bad... I would build from teh ground up myself.

  20. dpcdpc11

    dpcdpc1113 days ago

    Sweet hardware deserves nice looking software as well. So why not customize it properly using an awesome Windows Theme and a matching wallpaper? If you feel inspired check out deviantart.com for such great resources like www.deviantart.com/dpcdpc11 Enjoy your new hardware in great style!

  21. impact0r

    impact0r14 days ago

    "... bring Linux to folks who can't be bothered to compile their kernel and hunt down repos"? Check your calendar - it's no longer 1995.

  22. Rob Ch.

    Rob Ch.15 days ago

    As a Linux enthusiast I will buy this pc, not because I can’t build one for my own but Linux is a philosophy, helping a new company of entrepreneurs that care for our community is really awesome and you requiere a lot of guts to do it, so I’m in with this project, tho I use Manjaro

  23. Ditao

    Ditao17 days ago

    How did you fix the hi dpi scaling? I've been having it bad on Manjaro on my laptop for 4k

  24. gilkesisking

    gilkesisking15 days ago

    because he's using PopOS not Manjaro.

  25. J B

    J B18 days ago

    Linux doesn't require you to compile anything, add obscure repos (repos are what the App store and Play store are, you generally don't need more, like how most people don't use F-Droid), and a common use of it is to repurpose a computer for a grandma or kid. My nephew loves his Linux laptop. Now try and get a "normie" to install Windows, hunt down drivers, etc. A reason Linux is so liked, one of many, is that if there's a problem, you CAN get down and dirty and fix it, usually very easily. Windows and Mac might not let you do something easily, and it's at least as complex and requires looking around on websites to learn the difficult, obscure commands and tools. Things break or don't work out of the box all the time, but when things work on Linux they kinda stay working. We can't even talk about out of the box customisation, Linux blows Windows out of the water, and even if you add third party tools (and disable the telemetry) it stays blown away. Linux is good. I use it as my daily driver, Windows is mostly only ever needed when work specifically chooses to use a sh*tty Microsoft application they don't need to. Or for gaming sometimes, and not everyone is an avid gamer. Don't be a victim of the baby duck syndrome. :D

  26. quarkie

    quarkie19 days ago

    I think the subliminal background might be a seizure hazard for some folks.

  27. Robert Tanksley

    Robert Tanksley19 days ago

    This is is just Lindows all over again.

  28. arcticblue2

    arcticblue219 days ago

    The biggest problem is Gnome. The Gnome devs start working on a longstanding issue, such as application names being cut short in the app grid, but never finish and move on to a new shiny thing. The dev that was last working on the app grid issue stopped and is not working on GTK 4 stuff. The Gnome devs also keep trying to re-invent things under the hood and strip out features in the process like transparent terminal windows or sorting options in Nautilus. The constant refactoring of under-the-hood things in Gnome holds them back from improving the user experience and addressing very, very old bugs. Gnome 4 will be out before issues that have existed since the early days of Gnome 3 will be fixed.

  29. Shelby Shum

    Shelby Shum19 days ago

    A lot of laptops used to have a bunch of driver compatibility issues with linux back then. System76 just guarantees compatibility. It's not so much of an issue anymore.

  30. Shantanu Sharma

    Shantanu Sharma20 days ago

    I want to buy their laptop. I am very confused between Oryx Pro and Adder Ws. Please review these.

  31. Chuckles

    Chuckles21 day ago

    Hearing Linus casually say °normies° was oddly cursed for me lmao

  32. The Void Consumes

    The Void Consumes22 days ago

    System 76? does it play Fallout 76?

  33. LSD Pepe

    LSD Pepe22 days ago

    Pop os master race

  34. Lawrence D’Oliveiro

    Lawrence D’Oliveiro22 days ago

    9:09 Also worth mentioning that they’ve disabled the Intel Management Engine.

  35. Lawrence D’Oliveiro

    Lawrence D’Oliveiro22 days ago

    7:19 Linux idle is more idle than Windows idle. No big surprise there ...

  36. jbfeelings Drinumist

    jbfeelings Drinumist22 days ago

    SOUNDS GREAT AS LONG AS ITS VALUES STAY THE SAME AS IT GROWS!

  37. Lawrence D’Oliveiro

    Lawrence D’Oliveiro22 days ago

    5:37 ... or maybe the Greek word for “nipple” ...

  38. Lazy Ox

    Lazy Ox15 days ago

    Not really, there's not such a Greek word thelio the closed one is thilia which means hoop

  39. Lawrence D’Oliveiro

    Lawrence D’Oliveiro22 days ago

    4:46 Tools used by a lot of USworkrs *are* available on Linux, and usually run better there. What do they say about “disruptive technologies” ... ?

  40. Berserkasaurus Rex

    Berserkasaurus Rex22 days ago

    Who the hell thought "flickering tv" was a good backdrop idea? I've got a damn migraine now.

  41. Gage Stewart

    Gage Stewart24 days ago

    My favorite part is when he says the pc could be made 1000 dollars cheaper woof...

  42. loqk loqkson

    loqk loqkson26 days ago

    I was just recommending this video to my friends when I realised the flashing screen behind the product from about 5:30 would take out my friend with epilepsy. I do see that it appears to be from the original product advertising, it's just that they can't watch this.

  43. Scammer Smackdown

    Scammer Smackdown28 days ago

    KDE does good at the shopping store as well

  44. Prime Royal

    Prime RoyalMonth ago

    I think it is more workstation than a gaming rig.Similar to iMac Pro.

  45. Chris CSS

    Chris CSSMonth ago

    Install Windows 10 on System76 Thelio, Please

  46. Blue Square

    Blue SquareMonth ago

    Real men run gentoo on a ti83 calculator.

  47. SDSW TV

    SDSW TVMonth ago

    Linu(x)s Tech Tips

  48. Alexander Misch

    Alexander MischMonth ago

    I have one with a Ryzen 9 12 core AMD processor. I dislike the default Pop OS desktop environment immensely. It's too much like a tablet, which does not make sense when you have a desktop. This is also my major complaint of Ubuntu though. I have had no problems with sound though. I regularly build OS's on it and have 100% load on all threads with no sound at all.

  49. who8myfish

    who8myfishMonth ago

    Gaming. Gaming is THE ONLY THING keeping Microsoft alive. Nobody likes windows but everyone likes at least one video game they CANT play on the objectively superior Linux.

  50. HappyTrix

    HappyTrixMonth ago

    My mans said Normies

  51. Byron Joel

    Byron JoelMonth ago

    What is 'UBANTU'?

  52. Lincoln Sand

    Lincoln SandMonth ago

    Linus is still pretty clueless about linux

  53. Tigran Tovmasyan

    Tigran TovmasyanMonth ago

    Tbh, I've used Pop!_OS to revive my laptop and it's just awesome and easy!

  54. Robert S.

    Robert S.Month ago

    It’s solid. I use it for my vfio host. Some distros I have tried sometimes slowly crumble. Not PopO!

  55. Emmett Boudreau

    Emmett BoudreauMonth ago

    Pop! user here, not on a system76 rig. Really considering buying one of their laptops that switch between RTX and integrated graphics. I like their " No exceptions" approach, giving a real keyboard, rgb backlights, system integration, build quality, etc. I often find laptops have one thing I want, but not all of it, and it right about checks every box. I will say I don't LUKS encrypt my drives though, mostly because of the pain in the butt workaround when it goes wrong; And how possible it is to go wrong. You'll only do that once to save your 1 byte encrypted drive to never do it again. Additionally, gparted used to not be able to mount luks partitions, neither could disks, in ubuntu or gnome disks, but the problem has since resolved itself with an update at some point. Overall, very satisfied.

  56. jj cogburn

    jj cogburnMonth ago

    At about 9:40 what is the website being used?

  57. Garka Bana

    Garka BanaMonth ago

    1000$ for a linux inux pc!!! madness, i prefer the mac stand.

  58. Wot Wot

    Wot WotMonth ago

    "Free and Open-Source" NOT "Open-Source". There is a world of difference!

  59. Wot Wot

    Wot WotMonth ago

    Wait, Linus is a non-linux user?

  60. Anonym Unsichtbar

    Anonym UnsichtbarMonth ago

    Fridays for Linux!

  61. DJ Soru

    DJ SoruMonth ago

    The Linux is interesting but I think in my household only my dad would make use of this pc, and even then... he'd install windows because as Linus said... the industry standards don't have Linux versions, and he outright REFUSES to work with nonstandard software (but makes an exception for Cakewalk Sonar as he HATES Pro Tools, preferring to use Adobe Audition instead). Still, the woodgrain with matte black metal and bezled corners of the case are something that appeals to his "newfound" hipster lifestyle.

  62. GeneralGuts1

    GeneralGuts1Month ago

    If only pop os came with 'minimise tabs' by default in browser...tough for new users to accept

  63. HchQue

    HchQueMonth ago

    Do they disable intel management engine?

  64. Andrzej Waśko

    Andrzej WaśkoMonth ago

    santa please bring me one of theese this year!

  65. Gordon Chin

    Gordon ChinMonth ago

    Has the company gone belly up yet?

  66. gilkesisking

    gilkesiskingMonth ago

    No, they've recently got new warehouse and production space and taken on new staff. Doing quite well actually. Since Hawaii announced they'll no longer be shipping laptops with Windows in the east many OEMS have started putting out more Linux machines, seems they're on the up.

  67. Suvasish Adhikary

    Suvasish AdhikaryMonth ago

    i am using linux from 2015 August