A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Comments

  1. Linus Tech Tips

    Linus Tech TipsMonth ago

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

  2. Kian Moore

    Kian Moore2 days ago

    Do a review on SuperTuxKart. Just so you can be confused

  3. midnightwolf

    midnightwolf13 days ago

    Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

  4. alysdexia

    alysdexia18 days ago

    @lazypizzaguy gibberish

  5. pxc

    pxc25 days ago

    @alysdexia is the pricing actually that tilted in Apple's favor?

  6. Maggie M

    Maggie M13 hours ago

    Very good review. Shows good and needs improvement areas.

  7. techmouse1101

    techmouse1101Day ago

    "Compile your own kernel"? "Hunt down repos"? Jesus tapdancing christ what year is it?? If you think you still have to compile your own kernel for any ubuntu based distro, then please stop making videos about Linux. You're obviously not prepared for it. To my knowledge, Gentoo is the only distro where you have to do this. This misinformation is exactly why so many windows users have the completely wrong idea about Linux. Please stop spreading 2004 Linux memes. You're only creating more work for us to undo.

  8. Sarah Lanier

    Sarah LanierDay ago

    You had me at us made

  9. Keith Olson

    Keith Olson2 days ago

    Huh. So, as the design is OS, there is nothing stopping anyone from creating a 3d-printable base that the computer can sit on which incorporates a filter and noise suppression of some sort. Neat!

  10. MacroWaveDude

    MacroWaveDude2 days ago

    Watching on the 19in system 76 laptop XD

  11. Dave Snigier

    Dave Snigier2 days ago

    Great video! Love what system76 is doing

  12. Michael Cloutier

    Michael Cloutier2 days ago

    Where the hell have you been for the last 20 years. There have been Linux Vendors making prebuild and installed desktop and laptop Linux systems for a long time, and including support contracts for those systems. What are you on about? I have purchased Linux systems for some of my customers as fare 18 years ago.

  13. blizzardjesus

    blizzardjesus2 days ago

    I love that case... if i could hackintosh it, it would be the ultimate computer.

  14. JackRedstonia

    JackRedstonia2 days ago

    Well, okay, though I'd prefer just keeping Pop!_OS on the machine since it's a superior choice compared to Windows and MacOS

  15. blizzardjesus

    blizzardjesus2 days ago

    because i hate windows and linux...

  16. JackRedstonia

    JackRedstonia2 days ago

    Why would you use something as locked down as MacOS?

  17. Anonymous Linux Nerd

    Anonymous Linux Nerd2 days ago

    Didn’t Linus code Linux.

  18. nooboobtoob

    nooboobtoob3 days ago

    I use PopOS as my second partition. Love it so far.

  19. carringbushpet

    carringbushpet4 days ago

    There is a lot of dislikes about the 'seizure inducing' B-Roll footage. I think the concept of it was simple and brilliant, it was aesthetically great. Probably just needed a little less strobe type footage.

  20. xaGe

    xaGe4 days ago

    Listening to you speak about Linux in the 1st few minutes you can definitely tell you are not familiar with anything Linux from the last 3+ years. I cringed when you start talking about having to compile kernels or finding the necessary repos.

  21. Wsdag Saesrgt

    Wsdag Saesrgt3 days ago

    I agree. These days Linux will install and run just as simply and reliably for most users as either Windows of MacOS. The most likely fail case would be wifi cards, arising from selecting one of those distros that requires you to add a repo for "non-free" drivers. Even a small amount of research should help you avoid this problem. Since Windows users sometimes have to spend a lot of time finding and installing drivers, it' would be disingenuous to suggest that's a "Linux problem".

  22. homelessEh

    homelessEh4 days ago

    The ultimate Hipster Compy!!!! its nostalgic looking free open source os bra and its expencive..social signal for both hey im frugal look i use a free os but paid the same or more for a shillputer.

  23. homelessEh

    homelessEh4 days ago

    pop os has me sold i refuse to Pay for winblows 10 .. once 7 becomes Deader then vista.. its pop os by then it will be super mature and fully fleshed out by then.

  24. Zi&D

    Zi&D4 days ago

    I always thought Linus was for Linux

  25. Dave

    Dave4 days ago

    Rossmann quote: Dont Delay, Buy Today

  26. Sai Nai

    Sai Nai4 days ago

    bullshit content

  27. Daniel Rios

    Daniel Rios4 days ago

    "Normals" manufacturers should use Linux in their products as well, Linux has a lot of preconception, it is much better than the normal user ever thought

  28. nope

    nope4 days ago

    {interviewing the thelio parts and quality chart} ....thats a ali express button .

  29. George B

    George B4 days ago

    Theleos is Greek for perfect

  30. Littletweeter

    Littletweeter4 days ago

    this pc company is for people that have fuck you money lmao

  31. Nick Slouka

    Nick Slouka4 days ago

    *LGR signal appears in the sky*

  32. Christopher Council

    Christopher Council4 days ago

    Did you guys call there support?

  33. Lanngreen

    Lanngreen4 days ago

    had to stop halfway the video because my eyes started hurting from the footage ._.

  34. Mikael Kiviniemi

    Mikael Kiviniemi4 days ago

    Roses are red Violets are blue Help me I deleted system32

  35. skillzorz101

    skillzorz1014 days ago

    I think you put the wrong sponsor link in the bio. I'm actually interested in those laptop bags, but Dollar Shave Club is listed.

  36. Chrash

    Chrash5 days ago

    A couple years ago I was at my grandma's house to use her printer and I got on her PC and it had Linux on it. I couldn't figure out how to navigate it so my grandma had to teach me how to use Linux...

  37. Hexality

    HexalityDay ago

    your grandma is a proud woman

  38. sinni800

    sinni8005 days ago

    "No motherboard upgrade", but can the BIOS be upgraded to use Ryzen 3? If yes, could probably pop a 3900X in and upgrade the perf a lot?

  39. Diego Linde

    Diego Linde6 days ago

    Sorry, System76 is too expensive.

  40. Leslie Savege

    Leslie Savege7 days ago

    I didn't like the website either for the same reasons Linus mentioned. Linus shows his ignorance of Linux, when he talks about it, like the way software is loaded, which is pretty standard now. 2:35 It runs faster and leaner than Windoze, who likes to look over your shoulder.

  41. peabody

    peabody8 days ago

    I bought a thelio and its very stylish very powerful and DESIGNED to run Linux 0 compatibility issues. Yes i could have built my own, then you are stuck with individual parts that you need to rma if something goes wrong AND may not be compatible with Linux. You see, Ive been running Linux for 3 yrs and will NOT go back to windows........EVER! Hell, windows will not even install on this machine at all. Trust me Ive tried multiple ways and times! IMO it's money well spent!

  42. Force

    Force8 days ago

    I don't like that 76!

  43. Vaijanath Madugolkar

    Vaijanath Madugolkar9 days ago

    I installed POP on my dell XPS 12. Since POP OS have enforced the disc encryption most of the time when i start my computer it just sits on auth page without response. When i install ubuntu i have choice to not encrypt my disc.

  44. gilkesisking

    gilkesisking8 days ago

    @Vaijanath Madugolkar :) yeah cool, but you probably want to make yourself one anyway for security. sudo passwd username Just to be on the safe side.

  45. Vaijanath Madugolkar

    Vaijanath Madugolkar8 days ago

    gilkesisking I just tried installing solution is simply " Simply select to not set a password, and you don't have encryption"

  46. gilkesisking

    gilkesisking8 days ago

    Disc encryption is done by default during the PopOS install. Its not "enforced", if you don't want that ( say you're a storing game files on the same disk ) then you can select the advanced install option and set it up how you want, with or without encryption.

  47. Jan Enemark

    Jan Enemark9 days ago

    Linus, you should watch destinationlinux.org, and then join the program once. These guys will make you much wiser on the posibilities using Linux OS.

  48. Snypa007

    Snypa00714 days ago

    the 80's background interference is more annoying than the review! I literally can not watch this because of it!

  49. Defunct Lizard

    Defunct Lizard18 days ago

    You don't need to compile a kernel to install linux, Not everything is gentoo. Jeez linux is super easy to install, learn, and use.

  50. Clovet Music

    Clovet Music18 days ago

    Expensive done right

  51. Lindsay

    Lindsay19 days ago

    Proprietary case with open source software thats been unpopular for decades?

  52. Vinicio Coelho

    Vinicio Coelho20 days ago

    They are awesome bit expensive.

  53. Generic Eric

    Generic Eric20 days ago

    It's imperative to mention Lutris as well as Proton.

  54. Eli Santana

    Eli Santana21 day ago

    I know System 76 has to make money but their mark-up on hardware is unacceptably high. They charge RTX 2080 price for a 2070. Come on now. Sell the cards at cost at least.

  55. Kagyu Breigh

    Kagyu Breigh21 day ago

    OMG, this song is from a game or sounds super similar to one! It's on the tip of my brain... uggghh .. I can't even hear what Linus is saying anymore. This.. is killing me

  56. bean stalker

    bean stalker21 day ago

    Let me introduce your IO to my Dremel.

  57. Captain Comrade

    Captain Comrade21 day ago

    When are you going to bring back 16:9 videos?

  58. greg roberts

    greg roberts22 days ago

    I love seeing people building a machine like this, great review linus

  59. Anil Gulati

    Anil Gulati23 days ago

    Better than a cheese grater

  60. Techboy235 FK8

    Techboy235 FK821 day ago

    Yeah

  61. Mike M

    Mike M24 days ago

    I'm watching this on Pop OS 19.04 on my W3690 Dell Workstation with an RX 560. And it runs fast!

  62. J 984

    J 98421 day ago

    I'm watching this on Windows xp and it runs..... NOSTALGIC!

  63. MaDoTPG

    MaDoTPG24 days ago

    linux tech tips

  64. Bon Bonjovi

    Bon Bonjovi24 days ago

    Linus is the type of guy who drinks soda out a can